Home | Bexar.org

Opportunity Link: Regional Counties


The Alamo Area Council of Government (AACOG) serves the Alamo Area/State Planning Region 18, which covers 12 counties and 11,354 square miles. Compromising the area planning region are Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Medina, and Wilson counties.

Defined as a political subdivision of the state of Texas, AACOG was established in 1967 under Chapter 391 of the Local Government Code as a voluntary association of local governments and organizations that serves its members through planning, information, and coordination activities.


To obtain information on a specific county or county office/department, click on the check mark in the corresponding category.

Regional Counties:

County Website County Clerk Purchasing Contact
Atascosa County checkmark
Bandera County checkmark checkmark
Bexar County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Comal County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Frio County checkmark checkmark
Gillespie County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Guadalupe County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Karnes County checkmark checkmark
Kendall County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Kerr County checkmark checkmark
Medina County checkmark checkmark checkmark
Wilson County checkmark checkmark
AACOG Services:

AACOG provides general technical assistance to member governments in their planning functions, preparation of applications, and the administration of area-wide programs. In addition, program specific technical assistance for regional planning in the areas of aging services, economic development, 9-1-1 systems, homeland security, criminal justice, resource recovery, air quality, transportation, weatherization, and workforce is also offered.

We also administer the Alamo Local Authority for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities. In addition, AACOG sponsors special projects in response to local government needs or requests.

Support for these activities is provided through local dues, state appropriations, state and federal grants that are matched by local monies, and other public and private funds.


The mission of the Alamo Area Council of Governments is to enhance the quality of life of all residents of the Alamo Region in partnership with elected and appointed officials, funders, community partners and beneficiaries.

Alamo Area Council of Governments
http://www.aacog.com/ External Website

Regional Counties Bexar County Entities State Agencies Federal AgenciesSchool Districts Colleges & Universities General Contractors
Contact Information:
Renee Watson
SMWBE Program Manager/DBE Liaison
Phone: 210.335.2478
Fax: 210.335.0673
Comments and suggestions regarding this website are encouraged.
Please contact the SMWBE Program Office at 210.335.2478 or rwatson@bexar.org
For Technical Issues: webmaster@bexar.org